Election Information

District Based Election Process

In 2017, Hesperia transitioned from at-large to by-district election system. Districts 2, 3, and 4 will hold elections in the November 2022 General Election and districts 1 and 5 will hold elections in the November 2024 General Election. 

Residents of Hesperia may only vote when their district representative is up for election. To find out what district you reside in, please use our interactive FindMyDistrict Tool.

November 3rd, General Election Results

San Bernardino County Registrar of Voters has counted all the votes in the County and the results have been posted.  To view the full results, please visit https://www.sbcounty.gov/rov/elections/results/20201103/. These results have been certified in the City of Hesperia with the passage of Resolution 2020-77.

November 3rd, 2020 General Election Information

Council members are elected by-district, meaning they represent one district or area within the City. The City will hold an election for one City Council seat each in districts 1, 4, & 5 on November 3, 2020. As required in a by-district election, those interested in running for an open seat must reside within the open district and be registered to vote. Residents can use the FindMyDistrict map search tool to determine which district they live in or by calling the City Clerk’s Office at 760-947-1026. 

Due to the impacts of COVID-19 the process for obtaining nomination papers may change. Please check the City’s website at the end of June for more information on how to obtain nomination papers.

City Council Ordinance related to campaign contribution limits and regulations

California State Assembly introduced and passed Assembly Bill No. 571 which imposed a default campaign contribution limit upon cities and counties without campaign contribution limits beginning January 1, 2021. Elections Code Section 10202 and Government Code Section 85702.5 permitted the City of Hesperia to establish its own campaign contribution limits that are different from what is established by resolution or ordinance.

City Council Ordinance No. 2020-05, adding Chapter 2.32 (Campaign Contribution Limits and Regulations) to Title 2 of the Hesperia Municipal Code and limiting individual contribution to a candidate for selective city office to $500 with the exception of candidate’s own contributions of the candidate’s personal funds to candidate’s own campaign was duly adopted by the City Council of the City of Hesperia, California at a Regular Meeting thereof held on the 5th day of May 2020.

Measure N Information

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that a General Municipal Election will be held in the City of Hesperia on Tuesday, November 3, 2020, for the following Measure:

To ensure a sustainable and affordable water supply, shall the measure: (1) reducing the number of new homes from eight to three per acre, (2) reducing the number of apartments and multifamily dwellings from 25 to eight units per acre, (3) maintaining current high standards for apartment sizes, with (1) through (3) becoming operative when State law allows; and (4) limiting extensions for residential tract/parcel maps to the State law minimum, be adopted?Yes

The City of Hesperia consolidates with the San Bernardino County Elections Office for all municipal elections. The City Clerk serves as the election officer and the City Clerk’s Office is responsible for all candidates’ filings, the issuance and acceptance of nomination papers, City measures and publication of all legal notices as well as campaign and conflict of interest filings required by the Fair Political Practices Commission.

Argument Dates and Impartial Analysis to Measure N

Arguments in favor of and in opposition to Measure N and rebuttal arguments shall be permitted and accepted in accordance with Elections Code Sections 9282 and 9285(a).

The deadline for submitting direct arguments to the City Clerk shall be July 20, 2020. The direct argument must not exceed 300 words in length and must be accompanied by the printed name(s) and signature(s) of the author(s) submitting it, or if submitted on behalf of an organization, the name of the organization, and the printed name and signature of at least one of its principal officers who is the author of the argument.

The deadline for rebuttal arguments to the City Clerk shall be July 30, 2020 and shall not exceed 250 words in length. The same conditions apply as submitting direct arguments outlined above.

Pursuant to Elections Code Section 9280, the City Clerk, upon adoption of this Resolution, will transmit a copy of the Measure to the City Attorney, and the City Attorney shall prepare an impartial analysis of the Measure. The impartial analysis will show the effect of the measure on the existing law and operation of the measure by close of business on July 20, 2020.

Notice to Voters of Date after which No Arguments For or Against a City Measure may be Submitted to the City Clerk

Impartial Analysis Land Use Measure by City Attorney

Deadlines Related to Measure N

  • July 20, 2020
    • City Attorney’s impartial analysis to the City Clerk
    • Deadline for submitting direct arguments to the City Clerk
  • July 24, 2020
    • Deadline for submitting rebuttal arguments to the City Clerk
  • July 30, 2020
    • End of the 10 day public examination period for Arguments
  • August 3, 2020
    • End of the 10 day public examination period for Rebuttals

City Council Elections

The City Council is elected by-district to serve four-year overlapping terms. Council members also serve as Board Members on the City’s subsidiary districts, which includes:

  • Hesperia Water District
  • Hesperia Housing Authority
  • Hesperia Community Development Commission
  • Hesperia Public Financing Authority
  • Hesperia Public Facilities Corporation
  • Successor Agency

The positions of Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem are one-year terms, with the selection voted upon by the Council members at the first meeting in December of each year. City Council members do not have term limits.

Note: Campaign filings for all City candidates in the November 2020 Municipal Election will be posted to our Netfile database.

Election Resources